Monday Round-up

by aquietfancy

This weekend was subsumed by my spring break, which was really just one long weekend. Luckily, I did no homework all the way up to the very end, unless you count a third of your thesis as homework (which I do. two-thirds done, baby!). But this spring break was pretty successful: enjoyed great company and food, watched a few too many crappy romantic comedies, and cooked a few recipes I’ve been putting off (more on those later).

Did I mention I wrote a third of my thesis?

Anyway, here’s your round-up:

Fashion:

The Wren summer 2012 lookbook has me so excited for the sun. You have to wait a little before you can buy the collection online, but if you like it, check out their spring collection.

Current events:

Thesis lovin’ time: Aung San Suu Kyi and hope for democracy in Myanmar (ooo, I should tell you guys all about my thesis!)

What to do about Syria….

All eyes on the Muslim Brotherhood

I really appreciated this opinion piece from the NYT on the “politics” of going to college. (Ooops, did I just give myself away with those meaningful “” ‘s? My bad.)

Pasadena, my hometown, made the NYT. And since it’s not January 1 (i.e. the Rose Bowl), you should just assume it’s bad news.

Food:

First of all, I made both the cauliflower soup and the purple cabbage pesto from last week’s MR. Both were five stars (out of five). I have a jar of pesto left (1/2 head of cabbage goes a longgg way) and am trying of a different vehicle than pasta to slurp it up with this week. Any suggestions?

Peach crumble oatmeal from The Yellow House. I can’t wait to make this for breakfast the moment nice peaches appear in my store! Also, I love this blog!

Miso soup with butternut squash, poached egg, and spinach from La Fuji Mama. Fuji Mama lived in Japan for several years and shares many of the authentic Japanese dishes she learned to make there. I can’t wait to try them all.

Pumpkin gnocchi with pumpkin seed pesto from Notions & Notations of a Novice Cook. I can’t believe I just found this beautiful blog. The young woman of Notions & Notations is an imaginative cook with a beautiful eye for food photography (and all in her spare time while being a medical student!). Her blog is proof that food photography really is an art.

Boozy watermelon-rosemary lemonade from Food 52. Oh Food 52, you never let us down.

Rhubarb pie by Jennifer Wang, another inspiring food blogger. I love the colors of rhubarb, and I have a feeling this will be my last chance to find the stuff fresh. Pie anyone?

Have you ever brewed your own beer at home? I’ve been eyeing kits like the one below for a while (seeing as I have no clue how to make beer on my own). I’d love to hear about your experiences…

