One hour lost is…

by aquietfancy

another hour gained. No? You’re right, that doesn’t make sense. But if you are under the influence of daylight savings, don’t forget to set your clock forward an hour. I’m only saying this because no one on the internet is talking about it. Normally people warn us more. Sunday at 2, it will be 3. Plan accordingly.

Okay, I know you are like “Big D.” But here in Portland it is almost always dark, and the extra hour of daytime makes us almost even with normal places.

I had a really good idea for a fashion blog tonight, but I think I’ve been a little heavy on fashion lately. If you are reading this for fashion, Monday I have the blog entry for you.

I want to start with something simple: the egg in a hole.

The egg in a hole is the greatest breakfast food in the world. It’s simple, but understated. You may assume that it is too simple for you if you are a real foodie, but trust me, it takes some finesse to make an egg in a hole.

The fancy egg in a hole from Food 52, which I will try tomorrow morning:

 

Grilled cheese egg in a hole from A Cozy Kitchen: we tried this minus the prosciutto (which is regrettable. I love prosciutto a lot, but I just can’t.  Piggies are the coolest). But this was delicious. We ate it for dinner:

(Also, you need to check out A Cozy Kitchen. It’s my favorite individual food blog, both for the delicious recipes and perfectly witty writing)

 

The original, straight-from-you-pantry, egg in a hole from The Pioneer Woman:

 

My take (excluding the picture, because it can’t be as pretty as any one of these):

Ingredients:

1 slice (1/4-1/2 in.) fresh French Bread, sliced (or any other kind of bread, that is not a baguette)

Butter, enough to coat each side of bread

1 egg

A teaspoon of olive oil

Salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Cut a whole, about 3 inches in diameter, in bread (you can use a glass or cookie-cutter, but I cut it out like the pseudo-artist I am).

2. Butter the bread, including the hole you cut out (it’s the best part).

3. Oil your pan or skillet (I use a non-stick skillet, but you’re taking your health in your hands whenever you use non-sticks, so your choice), heat it for one minute.

4. Put both parts of bread on a skillet for 30 seconds, leaving the centered out part open.

5. Crack the egg into the emptied hole, heat until the white is set but the yolk is still runny.

6. Once the egg in the hole is set, flip the thing! Also flip the circled hole.

7. After about a minute, transfer the bread and hole to a plate. Season with a little salt and pepper.

I recommend pairing this with some turkey bacon and a mimosa (I’ve never had a mimosa). Tada!

For tomorrow: teachers and how much I love them.

